Menu

Veteran Homeschool moms, what advice would you give to a new homeschooling mom?

mommyoffive

I'm only on my third year, so I don't feel like a veteran. But my advice would be: don't be afraid to change things, don't be afraid to experiment, realize some things aren't going to work and you aren't a failure because of that, and join the WTM forum and listen to Pam Barnhill and Sarah McKenzie's podcasts. I think those realizations would have opened my horizons a little sooner. But I knew no homeschoolers and had only found one blog which gave me this very "this is the way you must do it" mentality. I had to learn about the flexibility which is honestly to me, one of the greatest things about homeschooling. :)

I've been homeschooling for 18 years and one what I see as important isn't what I thought was important during the early years. In the trenches when I was homeschooling all 7 of my kids, all I was doing is making sure we all got fed and lived to the next day. I put lots of emphasis on getting it all done and that they understood what they were learning.

Today, I'm homeschooling our last 2 kids and we are doing high school, which is new for them and me. I wanted these years to be different so I've learned to not push all of the time because it will get done. Also, I've decided that the core subjects are important but more important is teaching them manners, life skills, about their faith, and how to manage their time. School subjects are important but so is the other stuff.

Learning to really like being with your kids is important. Taking the time during the day to get to know them is important.

• Like 5

Pick one curric for each subject (if you are picking curric and not creating your own from scratch.)