Menu

email etiquette: students and their teachers

What is your opinion regarding how a student should address/sign (or not) emails with their teachers? 

I feel like respect requires a "Hello Mrs. _____. ...... Thanks, Student's name."  -- At least at the start of the conversation.  DS disagrees ("It's an email!")  What do you think?

• Like 2

I'm an online teacher and professor, and frankly I'm not offended if there's no greeting and closing. In my professional circles, that's the norm for many. I know who I am, and can figure out who they are from the header or the template name/title at the bottom if they're using a work account. I still do the closing myself, but I prefer that.

Spelling and complete sentences. Yes, PLEASE!

• Like 5

Add me to those who get e-mails from students fairly regularly and I don't give a hoot about the beginning or the end.  I tend to only read the main point.

I guess I'd be surprised if they called me by my first name as that isn't done at school, but that's about it.

I DEFINITELY prefer they use real words and correct spelling.

• Like 2

As a college instructor, I see lack of email etiquette every day. From discussions with colleagues, it seems I am not alone in my expectations:

I feel that a proper email from a student should include a salutation like "Dear Mrs Smith", "Hi Mrs Smith" - or even just "Mrs Smith". If the instructor has a doctorate, the correct address is Dr. Smith. For college instructors, if it is unclear whether they have a doctorate, a  simple "Professor" is always fine, or if in doubt err on the side of caution and assume the doctorate.

Never address the instructor with just his last name - or with the first name unless the instructor has made it explicitly clear that this is her preferred way to be addressed.

The email needs to close with the student's name. It is not always obvious from the email address.