Menu

Why is Saxon Math either loved or hated?

Strong script for the parent, lots of practice problems, and a sense of accomplishment for the math-shy student seem to be its main virtues. 

Its criticism seems to be in the way it negatively compares to SPM, of which I have no experience.

So what is it about Saxon that might be considered negative? Is it too didactic? Is it just not conceptually strong? Too much busywork? Is it the spiral approach that drives people mad?

I would love to hear from people who have experience with it. I am baffled at the mix of praise and resentment for this one curriculum. 

, and a sense of accomplishment for the math-shy student seem to be its main virtues.

You mean a sense of frustration for mathy students because they have to do the same thing over and over and over again. You asked for criticism. :)

My kids need challenge, not a mind numbing drill. Singapore provides that challenge through its complementary books. They aren't thrilled about SM. Saxon would kill all love of math for them. If I had different kids, maybe......

• Like 5

Saxon is a solid program whose extreme "spiral" format can work great for certain students but can also drive others to want to poke their eyes out with a stick.

Some kids do better with a "soft spiral" program where each chapter is on a different topic that the student masters, then doesn't see again until the following year.

• Like 5

I think Singapore math allows you to skip drills if you only do half the program, as some posters have said.

If you are a concept-only person and hate doing repetition, you will prefer Singapore.

I will say, however, that I don't care if my child doesn't like drills. Except a tiny, tiny, tiny minority, most people will benefit from internalization of math concepts and application via drill and repetition.

No, they don't necessarily like it, but sometimes I don't like doing pilates either.

However, my abs would not be what they are without the drills.