Menu

spoiled with a designer purse (first world problem alert!)

EmilyGF

I have a first world problem. :-) My mom bought a designer purse ten years ago at a garage sale for $5 and gave it to me. It is high quality alligator skin exterior and some other real leather interior. The hardware is great, too. I've been using this purse for nine years and I just want a change... but every purse I try out (even a $$$ Brighton purse) seems so flimsy and awkward. It doesn't quite look like new anymore, but being used daily for 9+ years seems amazing to me!

Sigh. Did you get hooked on high quality purses? What did you do?

The purse I have is not flashy. I would never carry a flashy purse (I live in a high crime area and don't want to make myself a target, also it isn't my personality). So, I would never carry a well-known designer purse. 

Emily

Start going to TJ Maxx/Marshalls or Nordstrom Rack and find a bag you can live with, even if you don't love it.  Switch to the new mediocre bag and then start watching for a bag you love.  It is very hard to switch from an "I love it" bag to "I like it a lot".  But not so hard to appreciate the "I like it a lot", when you are carrying a mediocre one.  

I love higher end purses. They last so much longer than cheaper bags. I've found some nice bags at the thrift store here. Brighton, Coach, Etienne Aigner... You have to be great at sorting out any faux bags, but it's certainly a cheaper way to buy bags. I even make a little money at it. The thrift store sells the purses for three bucks each, and I can often resell them for thirty bucks or more.

My hubby likes hunting for my favorite designers' leather bags for me. So far he has the best prices at Saks 5th Ave Outlet and Nordstrom Rack. My European made ones lasted the longest so we check labels at the stores. I have a leather made in Italy small backpack still useable from before 1997.