Menu

is tofu unhealthy?

Guest cowsgomoo

Soy is an incomplete protein. I suppose in small amounts, it is not harmful. It is also a comprimised crop, being meddled with by Monsanto and is GMO. My mother developed a severe soy allergy to GMO soy and then was unable to have ANY soy products or anything with soy in it. Keep googling it. I do not eat any here, nor do I feed any to my family or livestock.

I'm not a scientist, nutritionist, etc. But from what I have read it appears that any soy products that have been processed in a non traditional way and are eaten in very large quantities may be unhealthy. I think fermented soy products or small amounts of other soy products are OK.

A friend of mine who is very health conscious does not eat tofu, I think b/c of the estrogen issue. She says fermented soy products are good for us, but the others are not.

I do not like tofu, so it does not matter to me whether or not it is healthy!:D

Anne

I'm no expert on soy nor on genetically modified anything, but don't believe everything you read. This paragraph, from the article linked, doesn't even make any sense. How can a "gene" from soy "continue to function" in the human gut? Function how, as a gene? What??

"Soy can generate allergies. The gene placed in genetically modified soy (which I’ll refer to as GM Soy) is transmitted into the gut flora where it continues to function. Should you stop consuming soy, it can remain in your body for years, potentially causing allergic reactions in your intestinal tract that have the ability to upset digestion"

Edited by katemary63

Again, be careful what you read. These articles are probably BOTH full of cr*p, if you ask me. They do contradict each other while both warning against soy. In one, soy CONTAINS Roundup, in the other, it RESISTS Roundup.

http://www.holisticwellnessblog.com/nutrition/no-joy-in-soy-why-soy-is-bad-for-you/