Menu

CC - If you've changed beliefs in theology...

abba12

I have recently, after a month of thought and a couple of days dedicated to study, changed my beliefs on a fairly major aspect of Christianity (not a salvation issue, but a major theological point). The belief I now have is not the popular view today, however is still taught by some churches and has waved and waned in popularity over the centuries, with writings about it from as early as the second century. So I haven't just made this up in my head, it's a well debated, well studied train of thought. 

But I feel... strange. Like, my original beliefs were popular and what I was taught as a child, and they feel like the undeniable truth. No matter how much I believe in what I do now, it feels like I'm just making it up in my head because what I was taught is still the default correct answer in my head. What I now believe feels silly and impossible (even though I felt very at peace with it when I studied and decided) and what I was originally taught seems like fact right in front of me, even though the only thing in front of me is a number of churches teaching it, with not a lot of biblical backup. 

I've never really changed my thoughts on anything major before. Is this feeling normal and will pass? It's really.... unsettling. Like I don't even believe myself. Am I crazy? lol

• Like 1

I think we need to be humble about our theology and realize the limits of what we, as men, can know. If we study scripture, sit under sound teaching, work on apologetics and supplement with solid commentary - and something changes? Consider that Christ growing you in grace and holiness. Seriously, I know it feels weird but I'd only be concerned if the teaching came from men and extra biblical sources, not if you gleaned it and came to it through careful bible study.