Menu

missing mountains - ideas required

EmilyGF

Hi all,

I'm a Californian who lives smack-dab in the middle of the midwest, aka the Flat Lands. I miss my mountains. Sigh.

We went on a short vacation to the closest area with real rocks last summer for four days and it was lovely, but four hours away.

I miss the hard, steep trails. I miss the drop-offs. I miss the dry head and the rocky trails. I was almost a geology major.

Ideas for meeting this longing? Travel is not an option right now, unfortunately.

Emily

I am a rock climber and mountaineer, and I have been missing that so much for many years here in the Midwest. We have hills and woods. My solution was to make peace with it and to embrace, and come to love, the natural surroundings I have available.
So instead of rock climbing and strenuous mountain climbs, I am hiking the Ozarks. Pretty much every weekend. We know every destination in a  two hour radius from our town, have explored all the trails; I now run a hiking website and facebook page.
When we had been everywhere too often, we branched out and are now doing regular weekend trips (3.5 hours + one way) to a neighboring state with slightly more rugged terrain. 4 hours isn't really that bad if you do an overnight. We found that if we arrive at 10am and start climbing, our arms give out well before the daylight.

My DD in Chicago has discovered many hiking destinations in the area. They regularly hike in the Indiana dunes. Have traveled to Southern IL for a week. Southern Wisconsin is a weekend trip away. They have also been climbing and bouldering at a gym three nights a week before the pandemic.

This year, we added kayaking in the mix. No, it's not the same as climbing, but it is a beautiful outdoor pursuit that can be as athletic as one wants. 

Just a few suggestions. I get it.

Btw, hiking is extremely family friendly. We have hiked with the kids every weekend since infancy.

Edited by regentrude
  • Like 3

6 minutes ago, regentrude said: