Menu

Prescription goggles for swimming - experiences?

Raifta

DD has been asking for some for a while now.  I get it.  I can't see either without my glasses and it sucks not knowing when you are getting to the end of the pool, if there are swimmers around you, if your friends are throwing you the beach ball.

So I've been thinking of getting her some but I'm wondering if anyone has real life experience with them and has any wisdom to share - things to look for, things to avoid, should we just get the not too expensive off the shelf ones (she's nearsighted and it's already pretty bad but likely to get worse)?

Anything helps!  I have no experience with this and know no one IRL who has them.

• Like 1

My son had poor vision. They are around -6.5 or so.

Years ago I ordered goggles from Amazon in his prescription. Several years ago, they cost around $15. He thought the goggles were amazing. I’m sure they weren’t the best quality, but when you go from practically blind to pretty good vision, it is great.

Since he was younger, I wasn’t going to invest in a doctor’s prescription goggles. Sure enough, they were eventually lost.

• Like 2

I think we used swimoutlet.com also. All of my dc use prescription goggles and have had the same pairs for years. They don't need to change with every prescription change, so the cost is not too high. They also don't need to be able to do close work in them, so for my bifocal kids I could get the background (?) prescription, they didn't need bifocals (they probably don't even make those.)

• Like 1

Oh yeah, corrective goggles are the best. They make swimming so much more enjoyable (and I love swimming). Mine are -7.5. It doesn't give me perfect vision but good enough that I can walk out to the pool without tripping on things.

No need to spend more than $10 a pair. Goggles wear out (and get lost) so it's not just a one-time investment. I buy 2-3 at a time.

• Like 1