Menu

"My Degree Isn't Worth the Debt!"

FlockOfSillies

It'd be nice if they'd balance those articles with people who have gone to college and done well. Even at my academically poor high school, I've seen students with good results as well as those with bad. Our own personal experience (both mine and hubby's) is definitely positive.

But, with regards to their selections, I can personally say I'd have never let any of mine get into the levels of debt that those did - esp for some of their degrees.

Like one of the comments, I also wonder what GPA these people maintained and what else they have on their resume. A degree alone does not get one a job. The whole package does. There are few jobs where you can graduate in the bottom half of your class and still find decent employment these days. The fewer jobs with any specific degree, the higher you'd better be in your class - with good people skills too.

Well my newspaper had an article on Sunday which gave statistics showing that people with degrees consistently earn more than people without--even in professions where degrees are not required.

Along these lines, I really enjoyed another recent article which described high employment among recent college grads--then went on to follow up on what these people had done with their lives since the 1980's when the article was written. It was clear that their degrees eventually paid off.

Of course, much of this comes back to whether one earns a degree solely for job training or for education and, as Creekland mentions, the level of debt incurred. The latter often leaves me scratching my head.

I also wonder what GPA these people maintained and what else they have on their resume. A degree alone does not get one a job. The whole package does.

:iagree:

I posted this in another thread.

Our ds is graduating with less than $7000 in debt.

He has had job offers from every company he interviewed with. (And well w/in the range he had hoped for.)