Menu

Do you have strong feelings about contact paper? Chime in!

madteaparty

I just had my old wood kitchen cabinets painted lacquer blue and need to protect the inside a bit as I’m a messy cook and the paint is so pretty (plus my contractor told me never again will he use this paint lol).

is all contact paper created equal? Or do you have clear favorites?

eta that I did a search but these two terms don’t lend themselves to targeted results 🤣

19 minutes ago, madteaparty said:

is all contact paper created equal? Or do you have clear favorites?

eta that I did a search but these two terms don’t lend themselves to targeted results 🤣

Do you mean shelf liners?

15 minutes ago, prairiewindmomma said:

If you have any sort of leak under the sink, the water can sit under the contact paper and rot out your cabinet base.......a lovely lesson we learned this year.

We had that happened before as well. Luckily there was a pool of water in front of the sink and we cleaned up the mess before that portion rot.

• Thanks 1

4 minutes ago, Arcadia said:

Do you mean shelf liners?

We had that happened before as well. Luckily there was a pool of water in front of the sink and we cleaned up the mess before that portion rot.

Yes I mean shelf liners, see I’m not familiar with these American terms 🙂 I’ve barely had cabinets before never mind fancy ones 

thank you all. ❤️

I have strong feelings about never, ever applying adhesive-backed products somewhere I might want to remove them from later. I hate the residue that is left. I hate trying to take it off with Goo-Gone or heat or scraping. Shudder. 

I would go with a removable non-adhesive liner if you need one. 🙂 I like being able to just wipe out the inside of my cabinets, no liner necessary, but I also don't mind if the insides get beat up a little. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1
  • Sad 1