Menu

Sweet things with no fat, carbonation, acidity, mint, caffeine or cocoa?

Laura Corin

I'm on this low-everything doctor-ordered diet, and my sweet tooth is starting to act up.  I'm just beginning to add some fat back in, but I'd rather keep it for cooking savoury dishes, so that the boys get fat in their diets too.  

So far I've thought of home-made melon sorbet and apple sauce/stewed apple.  I stood at the supermarket, staring despairingly at the sweeties/candy.  Sugar in (decaff) tea/coffee doesn't appeal.  Any other ideas?  The only fruit I can have is melon, apples and pears (theoretically banana, but they make me retch).

On the plus side, as a side effect I'm down to 60 kilos/132 pounds - I can't remember the last time I hit that figure.

Thanks

L

Maybe you have a bakery that sells Angel food cake?

Here you can buy any fake fat free food imaginable.  They probably have stuff with fake chocolate that tastes something like chocolate, fat free, sugar free, etc. 

I'm pretty much a make-from-scratch person, but I think I'm going to need to branch out.  I need to find things that are zero fat and real sugar (can't take aspartame) so that could be interesting.

Thanks

L

frozen grapes? dried fruit? You just have to really limit dried fruit. It is very easy to overeat and they are calorie dense.

Calories aren't the issue - I should have been clearer.  The weight loss is a side effect, not the aim.  I have to avoid acidity, and apparently grapes are too high acidity.

L

Candy hearts or Necco wafers? You really have to be in the mood for these, though, as they can be a bit too sweet and maybe even a bit chalky.

Sesame candy. I've never made it myself, only had the store-bought kind but here's a recipe to try.

ETA: sorry, wasn't thinking how much fat is in sesame seeds. That one might not work for you.

I'd sauté a bunch of thinly sliced apples with cinnamon sugar. It's like apple pie without the crust.