Menu

Haircut decisions?

I'm wondering how families here handle the Childs haircut situation. I have always been the one responsible for maintaining the boys' haircuts. I'm absolutely fine with this. I have been a licensed hair stylist for 17 years. When I was married (and even after the divorce) it was an unspoken agreement that I would take care of this detail..... Or so I thought.

My oldest is 9 and went to his dads for the weekend. I got a phone call from him asking if dads girlfriend could give him a Mohawk. (!!!!) Of course I said "no" and that if he felt he was due for a cut I would take care of it when he got home. Aside from the fact that his dad promised me' he would not expose the children to this "woman" because the relationship "wasn't going anywhere," I was annoyed that he felt this was appropriate.

How are haircuts handled in your family- wether you are married or not?

I give the haircuts when I feel like it, or the barber does it if I'm not in the mood. I'm married to their biological father. I am also their biological mother. In other words they are our kids and I do it all around here.

Edited by 3Blessings4Me

Well, I had put henna on my daughter (12), she came back with blond hair her dad had first tried a box from the store on... then taken her in to try and fix it. It's blond... with pink/orange tint to it. She has brown hair; he apparently said that this was her natural color. I'd like to chop something off of him, right now. At least dye his hair pink. Where's the ticked off face?

Edited by NayfiesMama
BTW, she'll have to go to school in a few weeks, and her roots are already showing!