Menu

IQ "Giftedness"

Wishes

I just received my son's (age 6 and a month) neuropsychological report back. He has a GAI SS of 134 due to the discrepancies in his VCI (142) versus PSI (89). He has been given the diagnosis of 2E for ADHD, Dysgraphia, and Dyslexia (plus the IQ of course). 

I am a sped teacher of over 20 years. I feel weird saying this, but that IQ doesn't "match" with what I see of him. I was thinking more in the above average range with a drag down because of processing speed and working memory (which the test did indicate is true). He was a late talker (his first foster home was trilingual but he received Speech services up to 4 with some pronunciation issues). We have been starting actual academics over the summer (just reading and math). Reading is fine. Using two programs LOE and Wired for Reading (which is geared towards Dyslexia). Math is with Rightstart. Numbers have always been a bit more challenging. It took us a while to have him be able to tell us how old he would be on his next birthday. Patterning didn't come instantly to him, and we are still working on subtilizing. I still get answers like "three" when I ask him what number comes after nine. He doesn't particularly excel at puzzles or memory games. In fact, he usually doesn't even want to play with them. 

When I read the description (and I also have experience) with gifted kids...it doesn't match. Has anyone else had that experience?

The neuropsychologist is well-respected. I used him because many of my tutoring clients have used him. I have seen their reports and many of them are like my son's with the ADHD and 2E (this is not totally a surprise since I have a reputation of working well with these types of kiddos). 

Edited to add: