Menu

Another would you be upset question?

Tonight we left our 4 year old with my dh's brother and family. We live next door to them. We ran down the road to Lowes - literally 5 minutes away. When my dh went to pick my ds up, my dh's brother came out of the kitchen and put his hand on dh's chest. He told him to "stop and let him keep Sebastian because they were having a battle of the wills." DS was hysterical at this point, a complete preschooler meltdown. My dh does not like conflict, so he told his brother that at this point he was not going to win the battle. He came home to tell me what was going on. I went over and picked up my son to leave. DH's brother asked me if I was just going to take him when he was having such a tantrum. My answer was yes. He questioned my judgement and I informed him that I had been parenting for 20 years. I took my child home and dealt with his meltdown the way that actual works. The background of what started the conflict was pretty simple. They wanted him to eat meatloaf. He doesn't eat any hamburger at all. He wanted ice cream, they said no. I agree that he shouldn't get his way. I agree that he misbehaved. I don't agree that when we arrive to pick up our child, that we were told to step aside while his uncle dealt with it. I know my child. He is quirky. He will get to the point of hyperventilating and there really is no talking to him. I put him in his bed and tell him I will not deal with him until he can be reasonable. It takes time, but he will come around. This is what I did tonight and then I explained to him that he will not get his way, etc. As we left, my bil told him he could not come back there. This is awkward because we live next door. I did not go over to talk to him because I didn't want to say somethign that I would regret. To sum it up - I think that if you walk in and your 4 year having a tantrum, the babysitter's should fill you in on the details and then let you deal with your child. I do not think that the par