Menu

Epipens -- unbelievable

OnMyOwn

I just went to fill my son's epipen prescription. The pharmacist called to warn me it was going to be $1200! Last year, it was $400.

I had heard about how Mylan has been increasing the price and the backlash they were getting over it. Ii had read that they had increased their epipen coupon from $100 to $300 and that they had an assistance program so that families with income under $100,000 wouldn't have to pay anything. I had also heard that they had released a generic.

Well, there is a new coupon for $300 off, but they have tripled the price, so even with this new coupon, it will cost me double what I paif last year -- $800. The generic (distributed by Mylan) costs $881. The plan to cover families who make under $100,000 only offers coverage if you don't have insurance.

If anyone finds any other options, please let me know because we won't be paying these prices. I've been carrying these epipens around for almost 17 years now and we've never even used one. I've got to find another alternative.

Adrenaclick is what I use. Download the GoodRx app and search for it locally, with use of the coupon with the app it tends to be more in the $200 range.

This works if your doctor has specified autoinjector epinephrine. If they specify Epipen then you need to call them and ask them to rewrite the prescription for the generic/unspecified brand.

I truly wonder how the board or shareholders of Mylan sleep at night. I would worry that there was a specific circle of hell just for Pharma executives. So glad I am no longer in that field.

I am so sorry. Hope you find an affordable, effective solution solution that doesn't put one dime in those money grubbing $&@?!&'s pockets.

Adrenaclick is what I use. Download the GoodRx app and search for it locally, with use of the coupon with the app it tends to be more in the $200 range.