Menu

Boil or microwave water?

gingersmom

I can't tell the difference.

I've heard the "right" way to make tea is to bring the water to a boil (either way--unspecified) and then wait til it cools to 180 degrees, which is supposed to be the perfect temp.

I just fill the glass measuring cup with water, throw it in the mic, put a bag in it and nuke for 2 mins. Works for me--YMMV as usual.

• Like 1

For tea, always boil in a kettle (I use an electric one). You can't get a rolling boil in a microwave, and the tea tastes horrible.

I have not tried with coffee; it could be that that works better.

For beverages that require only hot, but not boiling water, like instant hot chocolate, microwave is perfectly fine.

• Like 3

I have read from websites devoted to tea that the water should not reach a high boil for some teas (i.e. green and white), but should for others (e.g. black).  As a cook, I pretty much understand the principles involved.  As a real-life person, though, I just boil the water.  Not being "The Princess and the Tea", I typically microwave the water and detect no difference sufficient to disturb me.  I could enjoy having the time to become an expert in tea brewing, just as I could enjoy becoming an oenophile.  No time, though!  :001_smile:

• Like 1

Um, I can get a "roiling" boil in the microwave.... I use a 2 cup pyrex and nuke it for 4 minutes, it will continue to boil for 5 seconds or so then settle down.  I add tea bags after that.  I do use our stove top kettle for making gallons of sweet tea but if it's just a cup I nuke it and can't tell the difference.

• Like 2