Menu

If you eat spaghetti squash...

JessReplanted

It should not be hard, but yet still come apart into strands.   I used to have them turn out kind of undercooked sometimes, so I started playing with the cooking time.  Essentially, for a 4-5lb spaghetti squash, I stab it once and throw it in a 400 degree oven for 90 minutes, then turn the oven off and  leave it in there for a while longer while I prep dinner.  I don't mess with cutting it in half anymore, because life is so much easier when you don't have to worry about cutting yourself over a squash.

That said, once it's cooked, it comes right apart, but you do have to still scrape out the seeds.  I have not yet overcooked one, and sometimes I forget they are in there... :blushing:

It is delicious, and i make it with tomato sauce and feta cheese and spices (after roasting the two halves and scooping out the strands), but it's definitely...watery, not mushy. It's never turned hard for me because I think if it is too hard, then the strings would not scrape off easily, IYKWIM? So I'd stick it back into the oven at that point.

I cook mine by cutting it in half. Scooping out the seeds. Putting it on a baking sheet. Putting some pats of butter in the cavities.  Sprinkling with salt and pepper. Cooking at 375 until it is fork tender - the fork pierces it easily. Voila.  

This week, I'm trying it with meatballs and spaghetti sauce.

I LOVE winter squash.  All of them. 

I cook mine by cutting it in half. Scooping out the seeds. Putting it on a baking sheet. Putting some pats of butter in the cavities.  Sprinkling with salt and pepper. Cooking at 375 until it is fork tender - the fork pierces it easily. Voila.  

This week, I'm trying it with meatballs and spaghetti sauce.

I LOVE winter squash.  All of them. 

I do this and bake for about an hour.  Use the fork test mentioned here, considering that "fork tender" would be about the resistance you'd want with potatoes for potato salad.