Menu

Stepping up.. Please pray.

LisaKinVA

Anyone who has either been in an abusive relationship, or has had a close friend in an abusive relationship probably knows how this feels.  It is not me.  It is someone I met here.  Little comments, sentences stopping short, you sense the fear and manipulation, you see the couple interact and red flags go up.  You try to shake off the feeling...but bit by bit you get more and more confirmation.

Please pray for this young woman, for physical and mental protection.  For her to be surrounded by those who can and are willing to help.  For her to have the mental strength to get through what is coming, and, please pray for the children.

No further updates until the crisis is passed.

things have changed since i was a military social worker. 

that said, there are restrictive reporting options that the family advocacy people have (where the unit does not necessarily become informed).  

flip side, is that i believe military commanders still have the option to issue the protective order, remove service weapons, etc.  

however, in reality, protective orders aren't worth the paper they are written on.  this is the most dangerous time for her and the dc.   at our base in germany, we had safe houses off base we could use.  perhaps she could ask the family advocacy people about that?   we also had the option of restricting the military member to the base, which helped the protective order mean something.

we will pray.  

ann

ps.  in some situations, trusting the system isn't as good a solution as fleeing.  is she at that point do you think? 

Praying for all involved.