Menu

I don't think we've discussed this, have we? Mississippi Law Require Cord Blood Collection for Some

AlmiraGulch

http://xfinity.comcast.net/articles/news-general/20130802/US--Teen.Pregnancy-Mississippi/

First paragraph:

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — If a girl younger than 16 gives birth and won't name the father, a new Mississippi law — likely the first of its kind in the country — says authorities must collect umbilical cord blood and run DNA tests to prove paternity as a step toward prosecuting statutory rape cases.

And then:

It is to stop children from being raped," said Bryant, who started his career as a deputy sheriff in the 1970s. "One of the things that go on in this state that's always haunted me when I was a law-enforcement officer is seeing the 14- and 15-year-old girl that is raped by the neighbor next door and down the street."

But Bear Atwood, legal director for the American Civil Liberties Union of Mississippi, said it's an invasion of privacy to collect cord blood without consent of the mother, father and baby. She also said that an underage girl who doesn't want to reveal the identity of her baby's father might skip prenatal care: "Will she decide not to have the baby in a hospital where she can have a safe, happy, healthy delivery?"

There's more.  Let's discuss.  

I happen to think that it's not going to stop a single thing.  If the 14 or 15 year old is raped by the neighbor and for some reason refuses to name him, unless that person's DNA is already in a system for some reason then what good will it do?  Are they going to start demanding DNA samples from all of the neighbors every time a teen girl gets pregnant?  Ridiculous. 

I read a little earlier tonight about. I'm not sure my opinion yet. I also wondered how they propose to get DNA from the potential fathers. So, it is not clear how this legislation will help. Unless, there is a belief that many of these men are already in a DNA database from committing other criminal acts.