Menu

Teaching Textbooks, the good, the bad, the ugly!

I have had lots of recommendations in another thread earlier today to try this with my son. My issue is not being a good math student myself and thus needing something to guide me in teaching him. He learns quickly and does a great job in math. He is going into 4th grade and we are using Calvert curriculum for all other subjects, supplementing with spelling power and Bible lessons. We originally were going to use Calvert Math, but would have to start in the middle of the book just to be on target with his skills and even that is review!

Anyway, before I jump in with both feet and purchase TT - 5 (which is where he placed), can you all tell me your experiences. Even if you just want to say "Great" or "awful" - your votes/comments will help so much!!!

We are doing Singapore and Life of Fred fractions, but I also bought TT6 at the homeschool convention. My dd loves it, and works her way through it. She likes doing it, and who can argue with a kid who wants to use a math program? We still are doing the Singapore because I feel weirdly bonded to it, but I think TT appears to be a very solid program. I have friends who have used it for both 5th and 6th and their childs test scores are very solid and above level for State.

I clicked the second choice. I actually really like TT; my oldest ds is using TT5. However, I may switch in the future, which is why I didn't pick the first choice. It just really depends on his needs/how well it works for us.

What I really love about this is that it frees up some of my time to work with the younger ones, especially since I'm using RightStart (which requires so much parent involvement) with ds#2 and dd (different levels).