Menu

Song School Latin- Do you like it?

okiemomof2

I am considering this next year for my 3rd and 1st grader. Those of you who have used it, what do you think? Mama knows NO latin, so she will be learning along with the kiddos if that makes a difference... The goal is to gently introduce them to it for a year and then start something a little more rigorous the next year... the younger one catches onto to things fairly quickly, so the point is to have it where I teach them together (one less subject to have to teach seperately ;)) . Thanks !

:lurk5: Watching this one. We're planning the same thing. Our plan is to get SSL, and figure that it's for younger grades, so ours might do it more quickly. After that, Prima Latina, then heading into Latina Christiana 1 and 2.

Well... that's the plan.... so I'm listening and hoping others chime in! :bigear:

We love it! Like you, I have NO Latin background.

I'm using it with my 3rd grader and Kindergartner, although my K'er just listens to the CD and doesn't do the workbook. SO far we've all picked up on a lot of basic Latin vocabulary. My 3rd grader has already noticed how Latin relates to many familiar English words and names that he hears, and he enjoys pointing them out to me. My boys also love calling each other fraters and getting annoyed with mama if I refer to anyone as a soror. :D

The songs are very catchy and easy to learn and even my 3 year old enjoys singing along and busting out with a Latin phrase or two here and there.

We fully intend to buy and use Song School Greek in the future, and would love for Song School Spanish to be produced!!

we love it here. My 2nd grader does the workbook, takes only a few mins a couple times a week. We listen to the cd together (with my Ker) and I make up flashcards for that weeks' words and they practice them each day. When we get to review weeks, they are allowed to play the game online to practice.