Menu

House Hunting I've got no experience... what did you look for?

How did you get started looking for your first house? What were the make or break things you were looking for?

I know every will have different wants and needs, but I'm wondering if there are some things that I'm missing. I don't even know the budget at this point--we'll probably need help from parents for a down payment, but our current rent is $2300 a month. Here is our current wants/needs list:

Needs

Single family home

2000+ square feet

4 bedrooms (3 bedrooms + office)

Living room + Family room (School room)

Large enough yard for children to play

Adequate storage

Central Air/ Heat

Within 5 miles of church

Cooking-friendly kitchen

Wants

Pool (if in good condition)

Wood floors

“Quirkyâ€

Trees

Established neighborhood

Within 2 miles of church

Abundant built – in storage

5 bedrooms (4 bedrooms + office)

3 bathrooms

Sprinkler system/easy to maintain yard

Close to outdoor recreational options (parks, trails, etc)

Family-friendly neighborhood

Single-Story / Ranch style

Don’t Wants

“Cookie-cutterâ€

Open floor plan

Veto

Major repairs

Pool in poor condition

If we can't find what we want, we'll end up having to rent again.

Enough space for your dining table.

You wouldn't believe the number of houses we have looked at that wouldn't fit ours. Mind you, we have a lot of people to seat, but, these places wouldn't even have fit our smaller table that seats 6.

We've been hung up on that and adequately sized living room. We host Bible study weekly so we don't want to skimp there.

And the split bedroom floorplans. I have a 10 month old who presently sleeps with me but will soon go to his own bed/shared room. I don't like the idea of him being upstairs when I am downstairs.