Menu

German help, please!

Heather in WI

I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure it's something about kilts and cupcakes.

OK, I made that up.

I don't speak or read a word of German, but at least I can bump your thread for someone who does. :) I hope regentrude sees this.

I agree.

It definitely says to NEVER trust homemade cupcakes from yoga pant wearing moms. Also says that kilts are only suitable attire for men with washboard abs....  :gnorsi:

• Like 2

Okay, that's in an old German script that was used pre-WW2.  It's pretty much unreadable to even most modern-day Germans.  I taught it to myself 'cause I'm a nerd (the alphabet was in the back of my math text in Germany - they use the letters as variables, like we do Greek).  Anyway, I usually have a super-hard time reading it 'for real', as real people's script varies so much from the 'ideal', but this is fairly clear, so maybe I can make some of it out for you...

It might be some kind of poem?  The top says "In memory of your friend, L. Weisser 18__"

It starts:

Beautiful world, where are you?  Come again, sweet blooming altar of Nature! Oh, your fabled traces live on only in the far-off land of Song.   Dying out (or extinct?), the Realm mourns; my gaze sees no deity.  Oh, from the warm pictures of life, only shadows remains.

All blossoms have fallen. From the North gruesome pains.  For One to rule over others, this pantheon had to pass away.  Sorrowfully I look to the starry heavens (literally arch/bow of stars)

I can try to keep going - it takes a while to decipher, and I'm not sure I can do it 100%.  Regentrude, can you read this old script?

I will keep adding to this post as I get more...

• Like 10