Menu

Pre-college/ After High School "Fun"

I'm actually Laughing Lioness' 19 y.o. dd. After asking her to post this question on TWTMF she encouraged me to post it myself... :)

I'm a graduate from high school, still looking at higher-ed. options, and have one small group of sort 'a-like-minded kids I hang out with once a week. However, a couple of the girls who I really click with have the same problem I do, "what do good girls do after high school and before college?"

Us three don't hang out, except in church settings because "good Christian girls" are the equivalent to "boring life style.":confused: I have been told I lead a boring life, and heartily agree! I think Tim Allen sums it up in the Santa Claus I movie, "ate a couple bowls of sugar, slugged back some beers, field dressed a wild cat, looked for women," and then follows with, "I read him 'The Night Before Christmas!"

Seriously, this really does sum it all up - the majority of young adults that I know of who weren't (or aren't) Christian's have fun by drinking and using drugs :glare: - this is how they socialize and hang out and "have fun..."

It's a running joke in our family that my older sister "rebelled" by going on an overseas, long term missions trip, and the only way I am capable of rebelling (without having a personal moral crisis) is by not attending my dad's Bible study group... that's how pitiful this situation is!

Is this a common problem amongst young Christian adults? How can this be avoided? Does anyone have any ideas of what young adults can do to actually, really, truly have fun and still hold their moral standards? Is it possible? :001_huh:

the majority of young adults that I know of who weren't (or aren't) Christian's have fun by drinking and using drugs :glare: - this is how they socialize and hang out and "have fun..."

You must live a very sheltered life.

The majority of children I know who are Christian, Jewish, Muslim, Atheist, etc. do not have fun by drinking and using drugs.