Jump to content

Menu

ashfern

Members
  • Content Count

    2,017
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by ashfern

  1. I painted & cleaned for a landlord for $0.75 an hour plus lunch. Then there is the babysitting, which I don't recall how much I was paid. My sister & I used to both do New Year's eve and you get paid a ton for that! I also helped a friend on her paper route for a little bit. My first "real" job was working at a movie theater as a "Candy Girl". I used to switch with one of the ushers. The owner wanted only girls selling food and boys as ushers. 🙄 I had a bunch of different part-time jobs in college (filing out paperwork for the clerk of courts, cleaning books in the Museum Library, Rese
  2. Over the weekend, my son & his girlfriend were up to visit for the weekend from the Atlanta area. Saturday we went to Rock City and had lunch in Chattanooga. Sunday we walked a new part of the Chicamauga Battlefield that we hadn't seen before. Monday I drove to Home Depot in Chattanooga, TN to pick up an online order. I live in NW Georgia. I stopped at a Wal-mart and my '"local" Aldi's which is 30 min away. I had my 17 year old with me.
  3. I have several lentil recipes that my kids will eat. My husband is more of a problem than the kids. I've always only used about a pound of meat combined for all of us.
  4. I've been with VIP Kid since Feb. My bookings are down to 1 kid per week. They have about 100,000 teachers and 800,000 students.
  5. I think the book would be great for that age. Self-defense is great also but as stated above it's not always a stranger who you need to defend against.
  6. I've always hated hand shaking. I still have pain occasionally in my wrist since breaking it and having a plate & screws put in. I would prefer to never shake hands again. Trying to figure out how to gracefully decline. At church, I used to always have something in my hand as to avoid shaking.
  7. My kids do "Just Dance" on youtube. They have the game but the child who owns it won't let anyone else play it. There are a bunch of different songs and some are easier than others. They are way better than I am.
  8. I use an 8x8 glass pan. Also, don't overcook them. I can't make cupcakes. I always burn the bottoms. I have no problem with muffins. 😂
  9. I just got my daughter these earrings from Amazon. She needed something that wouldn't poke her at work as she has to wear a headset.
  10. In our previous county (suburb of Atlanta) whenever there was a cluster of vehicle break-ins, there was always at least one gun and one computer stolen. These vehicles were in driveways in "nice" neighborhoods. The agent we bought our house from lives in a very rural county. Her & her husband were flying out of Atlanta. He forgot that he had his gun with him so had to lock it in his vehicle at the airport. His truck was broken into and the gun stolen.
  11. I don't have the answer to why people leave guns in their vehicles but in suburban Atlanta it happens. A lot of people in rural areas leave their vehicles unlocked.
  12. GA, TN, NC all would fit your description. We're in NW GA and get just a touch of snow, have the mountains right here, about 30 min drive to Costco, and live in a rural county so no restrictions on chickens.
  13. We've always just done mini-blinds so all the windows in the front match.
  14. We had them put a gas line into the kitchen when we bought & remodeled this house. It runs off the propane tank. There was no way I was going back to electric.
  15. She enjoys it and likes the free time outside. I like to mow. I can listen to music and get some exercise.
  16. My kids like Mario Party (multi-player or single player), Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild, Skyrim, Minecraft. They have other games but I think those are what they mostly play right now.
  17. So sorry. Too bad their focused on "winning" instead of what's in the best interest of the child.
  18. Sorry for your loss. For my early miscarriages I felt better within about a month. For my later miscarriage it took longer but I also needed a D&C.
  19. I don't get them but I do get the calls about them. Our county was dropping them off at homes via the bus routes and had pick-up locations. That lasted about 2 weeks before they went to just the pick-up locations. They are supplying food twice a week (Mon & Thurs). I know originally they were doing sack lunches so I presume they have continued with that. I would think that they are providing multiple days of food at a time. I know that there are some complaints as the pick-up time is mid-day and many people have to work or cannot get rides to the locations.
  20. One of mine had that when she was little (under 2). At the urgent care the doc just popped it back into place. Kid was in pain before but no problem as soon as it was fixed. Hope they can do the quick fix for your DD.
  21. Adding to what the others have said. You could use disposable plates, cups, silverware for her. I would do the 2 weeks confinement like the experts are suggesting. No visits from boyfriend. It lives up to 12 hours on hard surfaces and less on fabric. Leave her things in the garage for at least that long.
  22. Is she wandering the store picking out the groceries? Do you have any cases in your area? My 17 yo works at Hardee's. She said that she will quit if we get any cases in our county because she doesn't need the money to live off. They called yesterday to let her know that they are going to drive-thru only.
  23. I didn't vote because I still don't have gray hair. Most of my younger (in their 30's) friends do color their hair. My older sister colors her hair. For me, I wouldn't do it because I don't want to have to be dying my hair every 6 weeks. I'm a low maintenance kinda gal.
  24. We had ours cleaned in our "new" house. This house is almost 50 years old, there was a mold issue in the basement, we had remodeling done so lots of drywall & other dust, and the vents are on the floors. So, definitely worth it for us. They pulled out chunks of carpet, brick from the fireplace we had removed, puzzle pieces, dead bugs (there was a wasp problem), and lots of dust. I am the one with allergies and made DH get it done. It wasn't very expensive & only takes a couple of hours.
×
×
  • Create New...