Menu

Seeking Balance--writers, artists, have wisdom to share on balancing homeschooling with your creative life? (UPDATED in #18)

I would be interested to hear advice or even just thoughts on this topic.  I am a creative person-- a writer/poet (I also do some textile related art and am starting to paint a bit)--and now that my youngest child is 4 I am actually starting to devote more time to writing (I took a long pause during law school and child-bearing).  But I'm finding that it is a struggle to find the balance I need.

Homeschooling itself--the actual teaching--takes very little time.  1.5-2 hours a day or so for my 2nd grader; this usually includes some reading to my 4 year old daughter.  We start around 9:30/10 and finish by lunch.  My son also practices piano.  I exercise most days for 30-60 minutes, have my meal planning down just fine, and have a reasonably decent housekeeping/laundering routine (my house is not perfect, but it is good enough for my picky personality). The nuts and bolts of life seem to flow fairly smoothly. I am also working on a bathroom renovation about 1-2 hours a week--I can't afford more time!

The approach I am taking now is very Charlotte Mason-inspired.  It's fairly straightforward in theory, but somehow I feel myself complicating things (questioning whether I am doing enough....or questioning whether I should swap resources, that kind of thing, and then thinking a lot about this).  I also spend a fair amount of my 'free time' looking at various books, contemplating our curriculum, and so on.  So the homeschooling itself doesn't take a lot of time, but the mental planning energy takes a fair amount of time!  I do not do crafts or anything hands-on, etc with my students.  I'm pretty competent carl-esque when it comes to actually getting school done. I'm a visionary who is also deeply 'get'er-done' which is a strange combination.  (I guess it makes sense; I'm a poet who also went to law school.)