Menu

Engineering Is Elementary

Beth in SW WA

I have no experience with it, but it looks intriguing. If the books are high in quality, they might be worth the price. I took a quick look through the materials list, and it looks like putting together a kit for one student on your own wouldn't be too difficult or expensive (maybe a little time-consuming though). So, no talking off the ledge here. :001_smile: Let us know how it goes!

Guest Jeff Odell

Hi there. I'm the new outreach director for Engineering is Elementary, so, naturally, I'm not going to try to "talk you off the ledge." But I do have a few ideas to share.

While the cost of our materials is quite modest in the context of school curriculum materials, I can see how it might be prohibitive for an individual family. The materials list for each unit is posted on the website ( http://www.mos.org/eie/20_unit.php ), and, for some kits, you could probably put one together for less than the cost of ordering from us.

As far as the storybooks and teacher's guides go, I'd just have to say that they're well worth the money. I just joined EiE after 12 years of elementary teaching, and I have been incredibly impressed with the quality of the curriculum--they are thorough, detailed, rich, interesting, challenging, and fun. The storybooks are tremendously valuable because they provide a context and compelling rationale for the engineering activities. So often students are simply given an activity to do for its own sake, but that doesn't really respect how children learn.

You might also like to know that the EiE team is currently developing a curriculum called Engineering Adventures ( http://www.mos.org/eie/engineeringadventures ) intended for out-of-school-time settings, such as after-school programs and camps. While it is not as academic and is not aligned to curriculum standards, it will have the advantage of being free. The first several units are in testing now and should be available by the fall of 2012.