Menu

Correcting another adult's grammar

I have a friend who always says, "should have went," instead of "should have gone." It drives me crazy! She has a college degree and even tested out of Comp I and II with her AP English scores (of course, this was MANY years ago). It has always bothered me, but I figured it didn't matter that much. Now, because of some difficult financial times being experienced by her family, she is re-entering the workforce in sales. I am afraid her poor usage for the past participle of "go" (I don't think she makes too many other egregious grammatical errors, though I have heard some confusion on when to use "we" v. "us") is going to make her sound unprofessional. Should I tell her? How? I mean, I have been listening to her say it incorrectly for twenty years! How would I explain that I am just now telling her??

TIA! From someone who is hoping that this post is not replete with grammatical errors!

No, you should not offer grammar advice. In general, do not give unsolicited advice to any adult.

I know you mean well. I feel your pain about your friend, and I know you want to help. But, really, unless she asks, you should not say anything.

Also, no hinting either!

:iagree: Even though it would irk the heck out of me I would not say anything.

No, you should not offer grammar advice. In general, do not give unsolicited advice to any adult.

I know you mean well. I feel your pain about your friend, and I know you want to help. But, really, unless she asks, you should not say anything.

Also, no hinting either!

:iagree:

Just don't do it.