Menu

Negative numbers for younger kids

Dd5 is asking to learn more about negative numbers. (I'm not very good at explaining them :lol:. Math is my weakest point.) We've got Singapore 1A (w/IP & CWP), 1B (basics only), and MEP Year 1 here, but I don't see anything about negative numbers in them in my browsing. Can you give me some resources on teaching her about negative numbers? She knows most of the info in her current books so I could skip up to Singapore 2 if it's in there, and she would be okay for that section, but I'd rather find something stand-alone, if that exists. She's very visual but I can't think of a way to show her with any manipulatives here.

A number line and, depending on where you live, a thermometer. ;) Then make up simple number stories --

"If I'm at 3 on the number line and I move 4 hops to the left, where would I be?"

"If the temperature is -8 degrees, and it increases by 1 degree, what is the temperature now?"

There's one problem with a thermometer in Mep y 1, i think with the section on 2? Anyway they bring it up briefly but that's it. I talked about celcius numbers above and below freezing. That's also the way it's introduced in the mep problem I am referring to.

I know I've seen Less Than Nothing is Really Something, and there are more suggestions at

http://www.livingmath.net/ReaderLists/NumberPropertiesZeroNegative/tabid/403/language/en-US/Default.aspx

There's one problem with a thermometer in Mep y 1, i think with the section on 2? Anyway they bring it up briefly but that's it. I talked about celcius numbers above and below freezing. That's also the way it's introduced in the mep problem I am referring to.

I know I've seen Less Than Nothing is Really Something, and there are more suggestions at

http://www.livingmath.net/ReaderLists/NumberPropertiesZeroNegative/tabid/403/language/en-US/Default.aspx

Woohoo, my library has at least two on that list. Thanks!!