Menu

Have I ruined DH?

Hi there. I need your help. DH and I have been together over 20 years now (married almost 19). It used to be that he would eat anything I put in front of him. I'm a good cook, but lately he has been turning up his nose at some of my meals. He says he "just doesn't feel like eating that tonight." I have always cooked to please DH and the DDs, so I'm feeling a little put out by this.

He's a lovely man, but it gets a little annoying when I slave over a hot stove and nobody wants to eat what I cook. What should I do? Anybody have a BTDT?

Thanks, Lana.

You need to sit down and talk to him. Surely he is able to understand that making a meal takes time and money. If he is not willing to eat what you have chosen for that night's meal, is he willing to look over a week's menu plan that you've put together and tell you what meals he likes? Would he e-mail you a menu of what he would like to eat in time for you to prepare it?

We go through that every once and awhile. Dh starts buying bigger lunches at work and doesn't eat dinner. The kids eat, regardless, they don't have a choice in the matter :)

I stopped cooking for dh. No breakfast, no lunch, no dinner and I do my best to exclude him from deserts too. He gets the hint, pretty quick, especially when I say, 'you didn't eat your dinner' and refuse to get him desert.

It doesn't lead to arguments or anything, I just tell him it's a waste of food, money and time, if I cook and he doesn't eat.

DH comes home for lunch every day too, so I have to provide at least two acceptable meals each day for him. Lunch doesn't seem to be a problem, so maybe he's just not hungry at night. I've tried to get him involved in the menu planning, but everything sounds good to him on paper. It just seems to be an "I'm just not into that TODAY" type of thing.

My theory is that I've spoiled him. I cook healthy meals from scratch and always have. I think after 20 years of this he's forgotten how good he's got it.

Lana.