Menu

Can we talk Latin?

puddleduck

So...next year (yes, I'm already thinking of next year) I want to add Latin to our subjects.

What is out there? Can someone direct me through this maze? Are there different approaches that I need to know of? Basically, I've got no experience with Latin, and will be learning along with my son. I don't want to make any decisions yet, I'm not going to buy anything, but I just want to start looking into this. I need a Latin 101 :)

I'm doing something different for Latin. I'm using Henle to learn Latin myself, and giving them memory work based on Henle (which is the program I'll have them do in high school.) So the Latin alphabet, noun declension endings, verb conjugation endings, and vocab. This way, I'm getting a head start on what their Latin will be, and they are memorizing exactly what they will need. Some of this is our CC memory work, but I'm adding to it. I haven't studied Latin, but I have done Greek, and I'm doing Greek with them the same way. When they get to middle school, I'll teach how to use their memory work most likely without a curriculum. That's the hardest part of learning a language anyway: memorizing all of the vocabulary and endings. This way is cheap, and teaching them will help my study.

We opted for Memoria Press Latin programs because they teach from a grammar-first POV, have well-organized and straightforward exercises, and have a teacher DVD.  It is ecclesiastical Latin and has religious content, which doesn't thrill me, but the quality of the program has outweighed that and my 2 kids have both progressed well with the program. 

My DS7 is using GSWL this year to acclimate himself to the idea of Latin. Once he's done he will start Latin for Children Primer A. I'm also teaching myself using Linney's Latin Class (free!) and Henle. We are using the classical pronunciation.