Menu

S/O How to Spot an American - Shoes

MicheleinMN

So...dd will be studying away in Spain in the fall. What shoes should I buy her before she leaves?

Any other clothes choices would be appreciated too!

Thanks!

Eccos or similar. Clothes in fairly neutral colours. No clothing with writing or logos. I'm not an expert on Spain, but in general I would recommend shirts rather than T-shirts for Europe. No bumbags.

L

Thank you both! How about Clarks? I know that's a brand I've seen in the local department store. (The one and only that's within about 60 miles of here.)

Thanks again!

Clarks would be fine as far as looks are concerned. I personally find Ecco much more comfortable though.

L

Thank you both! How about Clarks? I know that's a brand I've seen in the local department store. (The one and only that's within about 60 miles of here.)

Thanks again!

Clarks are good. You can buy them on Zappos and have them delivered to you. You can look through this site to see styles of shoes. This is the UK site, but it is a German store. I have loads of shoes from them because they are inexpensive and comfy. Some of the shoes on this site must be specific to the Brits, because I go to the B&M store all the time and have never seen them. A few that I see a lot of (style wise) are these, these, these, and these for flat walking shoes. Wedges and sandals are also really popular in the summer. You can see the entire Diechman sandal/wedge collection here.

HTH!

Sizes are also very different. I'm only around 5'2" and had to order everything online because none of the clothes were short enough for me in Germany.

I am 5' 3 1/2." I shopped in France when we lived in Germany, the exchange rate in France was also quite good when we were there, so French clothes were fairly inexpensive. They changed to the Euro right as we were leaving.