Menu

Need advice for friend's who's 11 days overdue (due 9/1). Any suggestions?

She told me she was going to try a breast pump tonight and castor oil.

(and something about a foley catheter tomorrow?!?!?!!!...I didn't get this so I didn't ask). I know she's still trying for a home birth. This is her first pregnancy. She's age 38 and healthy.

Any thoughts? advice?

Please tell your friend not to do the caster oil. There is too much risk involved with meconium and the baby ingesting it. I am a midwife and usually try the breast pump to get labor going. What I recommend to clients is five minutes on each side then a five minute break. Then repeat. It usually takes an hour to get things going. I have had clients do this for two. Also what about sticking evening primrose oil in the cervix to soften it. Martial relations sometimes works. Has she started to dialate? If she is up to five centimeters her midwife might want to break water. I am usually in favor of just sticking it out. Here are a few ideas. Obviously I don't recommend doing all of this at once. And Please consider that this is just ideas from someone who has not seen your friend. So please take this advice for what it is worth. ;)

castor oil is a very, very bad idea... she will feel so sick (and in pain), labor on top of that is just not pretty (my SIL did that with #3 and said "never again" to the castor oil scenario...she's had 10 more babies though).

I have no sure-fire way of going into labor. I've done pelvic tilts, walked, lots of activity, stimulation (various types), and membrane stripping....heck, I even fell down a flight of stairs with #5 and STILL didn't go into labor :tongue_smilie: