Menu

Do you send graduation invitations/announcements with an expectation of money?

I was really surprised yesterday. One of my cousin's sent my ds $50. He does not make a lot of money. I never even told ds that he might get money as I have a lot of poor relatives, so ds was pleasantly surprised.

The only expectation I have of my relatives is a card, an email, or a hug. I just want them to join us in being happy about his graduation & uni attendance in the fall.

I would send money to any kids that sent me an announcement from the relatives I sent cards to as they are close to close extended family. I do hope that my relatives don't think we are expecting them to send money. How do you get around that?

No! In fact, I posted about this back in the fall before I graduated. I wanted to send invitations, but explicitly state that I did not want "presents", I wanted "presence".

I really wanted to say "thanks" to all the in person people who where there for me during the previous 3 years.

Posters here mostly said they expect to send money to high school and possibly college graduates.

I feel the same way (no, I'm not even thinking money when I send things like that). I just want people to COME if they can, and enjoy the celebration with us. But when I read threads here where people make a comment from the other side of the envelope ("Ugh, I just got a graduation announcement so now feel like I have to send a gift --"), it seems that a lot of people think that's what the senders are thinking when the invite/announcement goes out.

Our oldest is having a graduation celebration in June. I'm going to send announcements all the same, trusting my intentions, and let the opinions fall where they may, I guess.