Menu

Remedial Math Curriculum for 10 Year Old?

I am new to homeschooling this year and trying to pick a curriculum for my 10 year old.  She reads on a high school level but has resisted all math taught to her previously in school.  She shuts off and very early on thought that she should already know everything and didn't want to be instructed or taught.  She's over that now, but very behind.  She was at "grade level" math in traditional school last year, but she is easily confused by monetary trades in Monopoly and has very little addition/subtraction memorized, and virtually no multiplication.  Her class last year started pre-algebra, and she loved that and took to it easily.  What curriculum should I use to remediate her basic math skills and understanding?  I'd be completely willing to do both a remediation and (for fun and confidence for her) pre-algebra course as well, but I'm overwhelmed on this point!  I'm assuming she needs a lot of basic procedural and mastery oriented math, but even there I'm lost.  I appreciate all suggestions!  -Leslie

Well, I think I would go with one of three choices:

MEP-start at year 1 to get the feel of it and then power through year 4.  It will start out being too easy but by mid-year 2 she may start to struggle.  It is heavy on number manipulation and understanding how numbers work.

AIM by Math U See - this is a remedial program meant to focus solely on strategies and comprehension of math skills.

Math Facts That Stick by Kate Snow - run through all four, doing a few minutes a day, and then a different math program.

If you wanted to add in something else, I think Hands On Equations balances all of these out nicely.  It's a beginning algebra program that goes through concepts with blocks, a balance scale, and figures.  I end up using the balance scale page a LOT in beginning math to teach the concept of equal, which is a harder concept for kids to get sometimes.

• Like 3