Menu

Is religious study necessary for a classical education?

JenJenQ

In our household, there is no religious practice or belief. I have spoken to my kids about religions briefly when the topic comes up but nothing in depth.

I read The Latin Centered Curriculum and TWTM and and decided to do a classical education with my kids who are 3, 6, and 8. 

Is religious study really necessary for a classical education?

And is it only Christianity that matters?

How can it be done secularly and at what age should it be included?

Should it last throughout the whole homeschool experience from K-12 like it is scheduled in LCC?

I am just trying to understand why its necessary (if indeed it is) and if I should include it in my children's education. I feel like I would be more comfortable including it if other religions where included. But then the question would then be how much time to dedicate to each religion. 

So sorry for all the questions. This is my first year homeschooling and I want try to do this right. Thank you!

• Like 1

Well the ancient Greeks weren't Christian.

We are atheists. We study all the major world religions, their role in society from an anthropological perspective, and observe those traditions that we connect with (mainly the less dogmatic ones).

I don't see any reason not to study religion.

• Like 6

I think you would want a basic familiarity with Judeo-Christian holy texts (OT and NT Bible) to fully understand some of the great literature and philosophies of the Western tradition. It would also be helpful to have a basic understanding of Greek, Roman, and Norse gods and myths, Eastern religions, and other major world religions to appreciate perspectives and cultural foundations of different regions and historical events. Much of history is a response or counter-response to religious thinking, whether good or bad.