Menu

Can anyone tell me about homeschooling a child with ASD?

I have homeschooled for 12 years, but I have no experience with autism.  I keep hearing that school is the best option for these kids because their social needs are different than "normal" kids.  But I've also heard that having a child on the spectrum is a big reason TO homeschool.  

Is there anything that you would recommend for someone considering homeschooling a child with ASD?  Is it a lot different than homeschooling a non-spectrum child?  

Thank you for any help or thoughts.  I'm feeling confused about what I am capable of doing and what will be the best for my child.  

I homeschooled my Aspie all the way through. I don’t think that he would be the successful young man that he is today if we hadn’t homeschooled. (Though what do I know?).

ASD is a pretty big spectrum and challenges and opportunities will be different for different kids. What homeschool did for us: allowed me to give the structure that Ds needed, allowed us to let him fly in subjects because he is 2e, allowed me to work with him on social needs, allowed him to be in a bullyfree zone ( because honestly, my kid would have been a bully magnet).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 1

ASD embraces a wide range of severity. Out 26 yr old is on the spectrum. I homeschooled him, but I wouldn't say without issues, but neither would I say the school system would have done a better job. He has a very high IQ, very (very) low processing speeds, left-side weakness (appears clueless and clumsy), OCD, ADHD (not as prevalent now as an adult), severe anxiety, and when he was younger ODD.