Menu

College Year 1 is done

elegantlion

You all have been encouraging and inspiring to me, I want to let you know I made it through my first year. Amazingly, I did so with a 4.0 GPA. I wasn't sure I'd pull it off as my history grade had been a 87-89 all semester. I got the best essay grade of the year on my final though (which was one of my better essays) and that put it just enough to get an A. 

Because of that, my department recognized me with a Honors Convocation Award - which I had never heard of until I got a nice certificate in the mail. 

I'm still waiting on final financial aid numbers for next year. And I'm still applying for jobs for the summer. I'm also studying to try and CLEP out of the one math I am required to take and test out of first semester French. I'm also attempting to catch up on sleep. 

I'm currently a history major and trying to decide on a minor. I'd like to move on to grad studies maybe public history, maybe applied anthropology. 

I was able to do all my classes online last year and that was a big help to homeschooling. I'll be on campus two days next semester and ds will work independently on those days. That will be a big adjustment. 

Thank you all for your kinds words over the last year, it's been a wild ride so far. 

Well we are living parallel lives because I just finished my first year of college as well. I also have a 4.0 which I am super excited about because I really didn't do well in high school. I hated high school.

My first semester I took two classes one online and the second on campus. Then this past semester I took four classes on campus. Because I had a few college credits from years ago I was able to complete a full freshman year.

It was really hard learning to be a college student, as a homeschool mom to four, a part-time worker, and to deal with when the worst winter on record when you work outdoors.