Menu

Bible Scholars: please give Biblical refs for "the rod" (as in spanking)

I'm looking for the scriptural references and support for the position that the Bible refers to the rod as a tool to be used for spanking in training children. People always quote "spare the rod, spoil the child" as coming from the Bible, and then interpret this to mean "spanking". Where is this written? Or HOW is this derived/interpreted and from WHICH scriptures specifically?

For the record, I am a Christian and I'm not a spanker. I do not judge anyone who choses to spank. Some of the best behaved children I know come from spanking families. Some of the worst bahaved children I know come from spanking families. I don't think spanking in and of itself necessarily has anything to do with it.

Debate if you will, but from a scriptural point of view please. Do not disrespect or challenge anyone else's beliefs. Thank you. :001_smile:

Edited by Alaska Mom

I guess I am a "Bible scholar"; I have a bachelor's degree in Christian studies. ;)

"Spare the rod and spoil the child" does not appear in the Bible -- at least not in those words. However, the Bible does state the following:

Proverbs 13:24 (New International Version)

He who spares the rod hates his son,

but he who loves him is careful to discipline him.

Proverbs 22:15 (New International Version)

Folly is bound up in the heart of a child,

but the rod of discipline will drive it far from him.

Proverbs 23:13-14 (New International Version)

Do not withhold discipline from a child;

if you punish him with the rod, he will not die.

Punish him with the rod and save his soul from death.

Proverbs 29:15 (New International Version)

The rod of correction imparts wisdom,

but a child left to himself disgraces his mother.