Menu

Advice, thoughts and on-line therapy welcomed.

iamrachelle

This is my first year homeschooling. Actually it's my second week, so I am really out of my element here.

To condense a really long and drawn out story and give you a little bit of background . . . We are a military family living overseas and thus, have limited access to purchase homeschool curriculum. My DD attended a DoDD's school on base (ie: public school) for the first seven weeks of school. We have pulled her out (I won't bore you with details, but it wasn't a good fit) but for now have left my son in kindergarten there. I'm hoping to homeschool both of them next year.

I am using Rod and Staff for English, Science, Reading and Spelling. Horizon's for math and SOTW for History.

I've found the English to be very labor intensive and am trying to figure out a way to soften it up a bit. We've tried doing some of the lessons orally but then have a problem with retention when I review the next day. Also the R&S spelling seems to be too easy for her so I'm looking for an alternative there. The reading is good but I feel like the workbook that goes with it asks for obscure little facts to be remembered. I do like some of the grammar that has been included in the reading workbooks.

I feel like we are starting the year behind as we are only on lesson 11 and it's the end of October. My DD has always loved school and been a straight A student . . . she's had quite a remarkable personality change this school year. Lots of tears, negative attitude, etc. I don't want to push her too hard and want her to rediscover the joy of learning again. I'm just not sure where to start.

Any advice, thoughts and or on-line therapy would be welcomed.