Menu

Things to see in Andalucia?

Laurel-in-CA

Do you not want to travel out of Andalucia? When will you be going? (That is, will there be any local festivals anywhere that you'd like to go to? I have fond memories of Semana Celtica in Oviedo for example.)

You really can't go wrong with any of the common tourist places (Sevilla, Cordoba, Granada, Malaga). There's plenty of not-so-touristy places within all of them. So you can hit tourist hot spots and see off the beaten path stuff too.

Note: While I studied abroad in Spain years ago, I studied in the north. I did, however, do a lot of travelling in the south.

We're going the end of Oct/beg. of Nov. - coincides with my husband's training in Switzerland, so that we can meet up when he's done. Looking for places within driving distance of my brother's house to avoid hotel costs.

Is Halloween or Day of the Dead a big thing in Spain? I thought it was mostly a Mexican holiday.

There are Roman ruins, but it was eleven years ago that I was in Andalucia, so I can't remember the name of the site I went to. It would have been near Sevilla.  In addition to the places already mentioned, I would recommend visiting the Rock of Gibraltar.   I found it fascinating.

Italica is the name of the Roman ruins outside Sevilla. It is just a bus ride away. I studied abroad in Sevilla! It was awesome!

Other places besides Granada, Cordoba, etc.

Toledo, the rock of Gibraltar, Portugal is a day trip, there are many museums in Sevilla, The windmills depicted in Don Quijote are in La Mancha on the way to Toledo, Cadiz, of course cathedrals, monasteries, bars where they do flaminco dancing, etc. There is so much to do!

I know the most about Sevilla because I also studied abroad there.