Menu

Favorite books about homeschooling or education theory?

I need a new book to read.

Scratch that. I need a small stack of books to read, specifically about homeschooling and education theory, more specifically education reform.

A few books I've read in the past two years specifically about homeschool and education include:

The Well Trained Mind

A Year of Learning Dangerously

The Smartest Kids in the World

The Knowledge Gap

The Core

The Read Aloud Handbook

Since I've read a couple of books about the classical method of homeschooling, I would like to read an informative book or two about Charlotte Mason's methods, especially since our school day is more successful when it is Charlotte Mason-y and less by-the-book-Classical. I figure I should know a little more about her methods than what I've gleaned from the blogosphere.

A few academic books geared toward educational reform in the public schools. I am a former public school teacher and I need a few more books to support my conclusions on why the current system isn't producing the results it is aiming for. I need a few more books like The Knowledge Gap and The Smartest Kids in the World in my back pocket.

Recommendations for any other good homeschool related books are welcome. A Year of Learning Dangerously was more lighthearted, but it was very reassuring to read about another homeschool mom floundering around her first year, trying to find what works for her daughter. So, I'll take funny homeschooling books, too.

Thanks in advance!

The Well-Trained Mind by SWB

Charlotte Mason Original Series

A Charlotte Mason Companion by Karen Andreola

The Eclectic Manual of Methods for the Assistance of Teachers

Ray's Arithmetic

Rod and Staff Arithmetic

Rod and Staff English

The Three R's by Ruth Beechick

You Can Teach Your Child Successfully by Ruth Beechick

Home Learning Year by Year by Rebecca Rupp

How Children Learn by John Holt

How Children Fail by John Holt

Teach Your Own by John Holt