Menu

Crochet

Night Elf

How do I teach myself how to crochet? My aunt is amazing but she lives too far away to help me learn. Can someone recommend a website or book that takes a total and complete newbie and helps her turn out worthwhile items? What materials should I start with? I know needles come in sizes. I know there are different types of yarns. How do I know where to start?

I learned from youtube. Some videos are better than others obviously. I forget the username of the one I liked.

After enough videos to understand a book, I moved over to the simple ones. Then my wrist tendonitis flared, I gave up, and moved to sewing. Lol.

Dd loves to crochet. She learned 3 basic stitches and has figured out how to make a dress for her doll and is trying to make a hat.

I learned as a child, and have taught several people over the years.  I would recommend you go to Hobby Lobby and get a skein of their store brand I Love This Yarn, in a light color.  That's a good, basic, worsted weight, acrylic yarn.  Personally, I prefer working with wool or cotton (natural fibers), but they're more expensive, and Hobby Lobby's acrylic is surprisingly soft.  If you don't have a Hobby Lobby, go to Michaels or Joann and get Vanna's Choice.  It's a also a worsted acrylic.  You don't necessarily need white, but yellow, light green, blue, pink, something pastel.  It's harder to see and count stitches on dark colored yarn.  Once you know what you're doing, you'll be able to work comfortably on any color.  Get a comfortable sized hook for working with worsted weight yarn--probably an I, maybe an H.  Google for videos and just practice.  I'll do some video googling myself in a minute and update if I find some good ones.