Menu

Can We Do an ADHD Resources Thread?

DS was evaluated by the pediatric neurologist yesterday and praise be, she does not think he is on the spectrum at all. She does, however, think that he is 2E with ADHD-Combined type and some anxiety issues.

The other thread with resources for ASD was so helpful, so I'm hoping you wise ladies can share similar ideas for dealing with ADHD. :)

Is there something specific your looking for? Every person in my house is 2E, and ADHD is something we've all got. So, I've got a lot of experience with it, and I might be able help. Do you need suggestions for dealing with inattention during school work? Or teaching them the organizational/time management skills most people with ADHD have so much difficulty learning? Or something else? I'll be happy to help if I can, but the post will be extremely long if I just start typing out suggestions & things I've learned over the years.

Sounds like there was some good news in there!! So glad!

My understanding is that ADHD with anxiety is a difficult combination for choosing medication, as medications for one issue are often contraindicated for the other, and that there may be similar difficulties when it comes to supplements. Bumping for you!!

Well, probably not what you want to hear, but meds are miracles for us. It's not because I couldn't handle him; not because he couldn't learn. He's very smart and he's always been a sweetheart. What I found was that socially he was annoying to others. He couldn't concentrate. He was maybe one of the best kids in Kempo as far as memorization of the moves and ability, but he couldn't look like he was paying attention. He was going to start getting the label of the "bad kid" because of this. (His impulses are now pretty much totally controlled, too)

Now.... he is a sweetheart who's head isn't spinning in a million directions and he's more at peace with the world... as the world is with him :)