Menu

I want to use SoTW in high school! Input please!

I have two boys that will be 9th & 7th in the fall. They are not academic by any means. Pencil-phobic would be a better description. Only read when I have them during school.

We've been doing all subjects together except math. That is the one subject they are separated by grade level. I've been planning on using MFW for hs. I have a two-fold dilemma:

1) I still want to keep them together as much as possible.

2) We've never used SOTW and I really want to! Every time I pick up a book at expos or look thru samples online, I learn something and I have a Bachelor's degree, for pete's sake!:tongue_smilie:

Can anyone offer me any insight to help me plan before the upcoming expo?

Thanks!

I am going to suggest you look at the Sonlight Core 6 and 7.

Core 6 uses Ancients and Medieval

Core 7 uses Early Modern and Modern

You don't have to buy the core but it can give you some ideas how to use these books for you students.

Either core would be great for your 7th grader and you may need to find more challenging literature for the 9th grader. I will say the read aloud would be good for the 9th grader and the regular readers could work for the 7th grader

I have used sonlight and kept both my kids in the same core for several years I just had to supplement more advance literature for the older student or a more advance history source supplement the STOW. Its been a few years since using either one but I do remember both of my boys really loved our sonlight years and we are going back with sonlight this fall.

anyway just some ideas