Menu

BFSU: How is it better at teaching the scientific method.

Lovedtodeath

Honestly, I don't know. I use three programs and BFSU is my favorite, but I don't see how it teaches the scientific method better than the others. I'm not a scientist, though, so maybe that's why. lol I think it's really just better at showing kids how science is part of life. You're supposed to extend the discussion whenever you see an opportunity and find ways to make the lessons part of your everyday life. He makes it a point to explain how this should happen regularly and how you can tie whatever lesson you're on today to whatever relevant lesson(s) (often from another science) you've done before. I think it's better at that more than it's better at teaching the scientific method. :)

It applies the scientific method to EVERYTHING, and before they can even really understand it conceptually. At 5 dd just barely understands about making predictions and that's only when she knows the answer, lol. But she grasps everything in BFSU & applies it to her life all the time. It's not just reserved for experiments. :)

I own BFSU, we have been using Elemental Science also, and I don't understand how BFSU would teach this better, either. But I haven't used much of it.

I have used Elemental Science and RS4K and we make a hypothesis, conduct the experiment, fill out lab notes,... aren't we learning the scientific method that way?

But also, the above isn't really the scientific method, either. And in elementary school, I'm not sure it matters either way.