Menu

warriormom

Hi,

I am new to homeschooling. I started teaching my 5 year old with TYCR100EZ lessons. I am getting ready to start Singapore Math. I am considering the Scrambled States of America and Spelling Power. Can you tell me your FAVORITE curriculum choices and why? I would love to have some recommendations. I am also thinking about using the classical conversations cd as a supplement (not actually attend cc). Advice?:)

BTW, I would LOVE to find a great curriculum to teach my child Spanish. I know very little spanish myself, but my DH is Puerto Rican.

Hooked on Phonics followed by All About Spelling

First Language Lessons for the Well-Trained Mind 1/2

Writing with Ease 1

Right Start Math A & B

Singapore Start-Up Science plus library resources

Unit studies using library resources following Story of the World Activity Guide (my oldest didn't care for the main SOTW book)

I'm using Spelling Power with my oldest and while it's a good fit for her, it doesn't have the explicit teaching of the spelling rules that AAS does. That's fine for students who are "natural" spellers like my DD, it wouldn't be a good fit for my 2nd child.

Oak Meadow, because it's very gentle/laid-back/hands-on and not overly academic in the earliest years. One of its main philosophies is that "childhood is a valuable period and nothing is to be gained by rushing through it." It "focuses on the child as a whole" and it's got a really sweet blend of nature, stories, crafts, music and movement, hands on activities for learning the uppercase letters of the alphabet and so on. That type of early childhood really resonates with me. And even in the later years while being more at age level, it manages to continue to be thoughtful and hands on and creative rather than dry and textbookish... my daughter and I loved Oak Meadow last year for 4th grade, and we're enjoying it this year for 5th, and next year I will be doing OM6 with her and OMK with my son.

Favorites for K: