Menu

Building a course with The Great Courses

I checked out The Great Courses Master Class List thread above and it's inspiring! (I'm new to The Great Courses.)

One course I'm considering is European Art History. (This would be for a fine arts credit--art history.) I can see that the course includes 48 lectures (about 30 minutes each) and it comes with a downloadable guidebook that is 376 pages in length. (I'm not exactly sure what happens in the guidebook? Is it like a textbook with additional readings, or is it more for guided notetaking? It's not very clear in the description. Are there assignments in the guidebooks?)

I guess I'm mainly wondering if I'll have to supplement a Great Course with an additional text of some kind (and come up with my own assignments), or if the video lectures, guidebook work, and typical discussion/notes/response writing would yield enough content for a student to earn 1.0 credit. (This course might be more like 0.5 credits? Again, it's hard to know without understanding what the guidebook contains.)

Also: How long do courses typically remain on sale? (I would pay the sale price of $69.95 for this course, but I would not be able to pay the $500.00 full price for it!) Thanks!

Great Courses go on sale all the time. Just wait for a low price.
The guidebooks for the courses we had were basically outlines of the lectures, with some added reading assignments.
I have used a variety of GC for our classes, sometimes with additional textbooks and reading, sometimes (music) with additional performances.

If you are planning Art History, it's an elective and there is no standardized canon, so you are pretty much free to do whatever you want. A common rule of thumb for self-designed course would be approximately 120 hours for one credit, give or take. So, if there are 24 hours of lectures, you'd need some other stuff to flesh it out.