Menu

Programming language courses?

Hi,

My High School son is looking for programming language online courses as he is interested in pursing his career in Computer/Software Engineering at Waterloo University. We have browsed some options so kindly recommend me the best one to start as an absolute beginner:

https://www.coursera.org/specializations/java-programming

https://www.edx.org/course/html5-and-css-fundamentals

https://www.edx.org/course/cs50s-introduction-to-game-development-0

https://www.edx.org/microsoft-professional-program-entry-level-software

https://open.cs.uwaterloo.ca/

https://www.w3schools.com/

Which website would be a good place to start (without any outside help)? Thanks.

• Like 1

13 hours ago, 8FillTheHeart said:

My dd self-taught herself Python without difficulties using the book Python for the Absolute Beginner. She is currently at a CS camp and told me last night  that now she definitely wants to major in CS.

Several have a title like that. Is the one you mean By Dawson ?

Self-study doesn't work for my oldest, so we're going with a live class. She's taking a Java class through Excelsior. I have no idea how it will go as I haven't even seen a syllabus yet and the course description is skimpy.

We considered the AoPS class and FundaFunda's not-live class, too. (I wanted to send her to a CS camp, but we could not find anything nearby (within 1 1/2-2 hours)  and all the driveable ones (3-6 hrs) were either day camps or super expensive.)

46 minutes ago, Pen said:

Several have a title like that. Is the one you mean By Dawson ?

Yes. 3rd ed. Fwiw, her older brother took AoPS's intro to programming class and she covered much more coding through self-studying the book. It is written directly to the student to work through various projects, so it is meant to be self-teaching.

• Like 2

• 2 years later...
On 7/11/2018 at 1:16 AM, 8filltheheart said: