Menu

physics first...who has done this? College input??

I am just beginning to research science for my freshman twin boys next fall and trying to decide on biology or physics.  I am not sure I really understand the whole reasons behind the physics first movement so could someone fill me in on this?  What do colleges think about this approach?  How have your children done if you have gone this way?  I really am just looking for any discussions on this issue so I am well informed when I make a decision.

Thanks so much

pam

The reasoning is, I believe, that physics is the foundational science and that other fields of study such as chemistry and biology will be better understood once a basic understanding of physics is in place. The challenge is that most ninth graders do not have the math background for a regular introductory physics course so you may be limited to conceptual physics. I think conceptual physics can in fact be a good starting point, but I would want to follow it up later with a more rigorous physics course for most students. One progression would then be conceptual physics in 9th, chemistry and biology in 10th and 11th, and physics again in 12th. 

Actually, my ideal would be integrated or multi-strand science throughout the high school years, as is taught in some other countries. 

• Like 5

We have done physics first.

It makes sense from a conceptual approach since physics is the most fundamental of sciences and all systems, even biological ones, must obey the laws of physics. Chemistry is really just an application of physics, and biology uses a lot of chemistry. The only reason schools teach biology first is the delay in math instruction: physics requires math.

Both my kids started with algebra based physics in 9th grade.

Colleges do not care.

Having physics at all is a bonus in a country where  a "high school" can get away without even offering physics.

Edited by regentrude
  • Like 5